# FOREWORD

This is a collection of extended abstracts of the talks presented at the 12th European Conference on Combinatorics, Graph Theory and Applications 2023 (Eurocomb'23), which was held in Prague from August 28 to September 1, 2023. This year's Eurocomb conference was organized by Charles University with support from colleagues from Masaryk University. Continuing the tradition of the previous 11 conferences of the Eurocomb series, Eurocomb'23 covered the full range of combinatorics and graph theory including applications in other areas of mathematics, computer science and engineering.

Combinatorics is witnessing a steady increase in its significance within contemporary research, particularly in the fields of mathematics and computer science. However, its impact is not limited to these areas alone. This is also reflected in the increasing interest in Eurocomb conferences, which became an established forum of cutting-edge research in combinatorics world-wide. This year's Eurocomb attracted a total of 170 submissions. Out of them, 115 were presented as talks at the conference, while additional 17 were presented as posters. In addition to the contributed presentations, the conference program featured invited plenary talks by nine renowned experts - Gwenaël Joret (ULB), Eun Jung Kim (LAMSADE, Paris-Dauphine), Matthew Kwan (IST Austria), Shoham Letzter (University College London), Rose McCarty (Princeton), Dhruv Mubayi (UI Chicago), Oleg Pikhurko (Warwick), Luke Postle (Waterloo) and Martin Tancer (Charles University) who covered recent advancements across a wide range of topics encompassing extremal, probabilistic, and structural combinatorics, as well as theoretical computer science.

Since Eurocomb'03, which was held in Prague 20 years ago, the European Prize in Combinatorics has been awarded to recognize groundbreaking contributions in combinatorics, discrete mathematics, and their applications by young European researchers not older than 35. The prize is supported by the Centre for Discrete Mathematics, Theoretical Computer Science and Applications (DIMATIA) of Charles University in Prague, the organizers of Eurocomb, Elsevier and additional sponsors.

We would like to thank all participants of Eurocomb'23, particularly the presenters, for contributing to the success of this year's Eurocomb conference. We express our special gratitude to the nine invited speakers for accepting our invitations to deliver plenary talks. We would also like to acknowledge the remarkable dedication and hard work of the pro-

## Foreword

gram committee members who contributed to creating an engaging conference program; their commitment played a vital role in making the program appealing. Last but not least, we would like to thank Zdeněk Dvořák, the chair of the organizing committee, together with all organizing committee members for their tremendous efforts, ensuring the smooth execution of the conference. Their commitment and meticulous planning significantly contributed to the overall success of the event.

Dan Kráľ and Jaroslav Nešetřil

## Foreword

#### Program committee

Agnes Backhausz (Eötvös Loránd University) Marthe Bonamy (LABRI, Bordeaux) Boris Bukh (CMU) David Conlon (Caltech) Michael Drmota (TU Wien) Zdeněk Dvořák (Charles University) Stefan Felsner (TU Berlin) Andrzej Grzesik (Jagiellonian University) Ervin Győri (Alfréd Rényi Institute, Budapest) Dan Kráľ (Masaryk University, Brno) - co-chair Bojan Mohar (SFU, Vancouver and University of Ljubljana) Rob Morris (IMPA, Rio de Janeiro) Jaroslav Nešetřil (Charles University, Prague) - chair Marc Noy (UPC, Barcelona) Patrice Ossona de Mendez (CNRS and EHESS, Paris) Marco Pellegrini (IIT-CNR, Pisa) Michał Pilipczuk (University of Warsaw) Oriol Serra (UPC, Barcelona) Jozef Širáň (Open University) Jozef Skokan (LSE, London) Sophie Spirkl (Waterloo) Maya Stein (University of Chile, Santiago de Chile) David Wood (Monash University) Xuding Zhu (Zhejiang Normal University, Jinhua)

### Organizing committee

Martin Balko (Charles University, Prague) Zdeněk Dvořák (Charles University, Prague) - chair Frederik Garbe (Masaryk University, Brno) Jan Hubička (Charles University, Prague) Dan Kráľ (Masaryk University, Prague) Dan Kráľ (Charles University, Prague) Martin Mareš (Charles University, Prague) Petra Milštainová (Charles University, Prague) Jaroslav Nešetřil (Charles University, Prague) - co-chair Milena Zeithamlová (Action M)